Salix Homes

Meet the Board

Customer Board Members

Mike Enoch

Mike lives in the Lower Broughton area of Salford.  Now retired, he spent most of his working life in a managerial role with a major building society and lately as a Licensing Officer with Manchester City Council. He has keen interest in equality and diversity issues.

Tessa Aremstead Fairweather

Tessa Armstead Fairweather

Tessa lives in Irwell Riverside off Blackfriars. She is a Member of the Audit and Resources Committee and is particuarly interested in environmental issues and sustainable technologies. She lived for 30 years in a developing country and has worked with refugee and minority groups. She works part time as a Civil Servant, and volunteers with the Red Cross.

Hessel de Boer

Hessel de Boer

Hessel lives in Central Salford and is a member of our Customer and Neighbourhoods Committee. He has a managerial background in International logistics, but got involved with housing and regeneration, during a neighbourhood planning exercise for his estate. Hessel devotes all his time in a voluntary capacity, with a range of organisations, specialising in community voluntary services, green technologies and sustainable urban development. He is Treasurer for Salford CVS and a Salford Knowledge Ambassador for RE-Block, an EU URBACT funded research project, into reviving high-rise blocks for cohesive and green neighbourhoods. 

Michael Copple

Mike Copple

Mike lives in Higher Broughton and is Deputy Chair of the Board and a Member of the Audit and Resources Committee. A former Borough and County Councillor, Mike is particularly interested in housing issues and the interests of older people. Mike is also the Chair of Broomedge Tenants and Residents Association.


Independent Board Members


Bill Gill

Bill is Chair of the Audit and Resources Committee.  He now runs his own internal audit and consultancy business in the social housing sector.  This provides him with a range of experiences, which he is able to bring to the Board. He is heavily involved in performance benchmarking, value for money and resident scrutiny, as well as audit and risk issues.


Peter Styche

Peter Styche (OBE) - Chair

As well as acting as Chair, Peter is also a Member of our Audit and Resources Committee. He has considerable housing and regeneration experience and recently retired from the Government Office North West where he was Director of Spatial Planning and Housing. Peter is a member of the National Housing Federation North West Board Member Advisory Group.


Ade Alao

Ade Alao

Ade works for Tameside Council in Regeneration and is a Member of our Customer Performance Panel. As well as considerable regeneration experience, Ade has been a Chair of an ALMO in Greater Manchester, Northwards Housing.


Steve Wood

Steve Wood 

Steve is Liverpool Housing Trust's Director of Finance and Performance. He is the former Director of Business Services of Northwards Housing and Director (Finance Services) for HQN consultants. He brings business planning, value for money and financial management expertise to the board as well as knowledge on a variety of housing finance related matters.


Council Nominees

Cllr Peter Connor

Peter Connor

Peter is a Councillor for the Kersal Ward and is also Assistant Mayor for Adult Services and Services for Older People.

Joe Murphy

Joe Murphy

Joe is a Councillor for the Claremont Ward and is also a member of various Council Committees. 

James King

Jim is a Councillor for Broughton, and as well as serving on several Council Committees has served in various roles including the North West/North Midlands Regional Board of the Cooperative Group.  

He also sits on the board of Salford City Radio, and set up the FairTrade movement across the city.

A passionate environmentalist, Jim is a keen bee-keeper and persuaded the City Council to back the threatened British Honey Bee.

Co-opted Members

In addition to our Board Members, there are also a number of Co-opted Members who support the work of our Committee's. Co-opted Members have particular skills, knowledge and experience that help the Committee's in decision making and developing the work areas they are responsible for. Our current Co-opted Members are:

  • Anthony Lockley - Customer Performance Panel
  • Julie Marsh - Audit and Resources Committee
  • Ann-Marie Pickup - Customer and Neighbourhoods Committee
  • Judith Furlonger - Customer and Neighbourhoods Committee
  • Gerry Stone - Customer and Neighbourhoods Committee